It started with cups.

I like tea. I like having people over for tea even more then I like having tea. Pulled out the mugs the other day and noticed they were stained inside…and of course this would never have bothered me before…but since beginning to purge I’ve started to care about taking care of the stuff I want to keep ….

 Anyway back to the story, 10 minutes before someone was coming I frantically searched the Internet on the quickest way to clean mugs. Baking soda vinegar and blue dawn seemed like top quick favorites…since those are staples I’m our house anyway…I didn’t bother following instructions and just put some of each in the mugs…and viola..a little bit of elbow grease and they look beautiful! 

Tea was had and enjoyed…but of course I couldn’t stop there…now they needed a beautiful home….so the cup cupboards got decluttered…

And then it didn’t make sence to leave the kitchen a mess…so a few hours later… and another 3 boxes ready to go to the thrift store…

I no longer loath this room….in fact right now it’s my favorite room.  In the house…. but I do feel a little bit like the mouse with the cookie…. if you give a minimalist a project….

It’s amazing how tackling such a lived in room can change the whole mood of a house…my house now feels welcoming and eager to great us when we start the day. 

Author: Katie M

Just a suburban wife, auntie, mommy, child of God, trying to document and make change in the world of those around me.

1 thought on “It started with cups.”

Leave a Reply

